An Augustinian Priory , dedicated to St Mary and Thomas the Martyr , founded
on the outskirts of Haverfordwest near the Western Cleddau River in 1200 .
The ruined buildings date from the 13c with 15c additions .
Recently excavations have uncovered the remains of the Medieval Priory Gardens , complete with raised beds, unique as the only surviving ecclesiastical medieval gardens in
Britain , and the beds have now been replanted with simple plants appropriate to the period.
The monks would have grown scented flowers and herbs for culinary and medicinal use .
Following the dissolution of the monasteries in 1536 the site passed into private ownership,
including that of Sir John Perrot, who used stone from the Priory to repair his
home at Haroldson.
Location: SM 956.152